whiski_sour: (It Stinks! (creepy_girl80))
[personal profile] whiski_sour
This is really kinda gross, so don't read it if you're at all squeamish.


I swiped some money and was on my way out the backdoor to go grocery shopping when I was greeted with the gruesome sight of a my cat, Whatcha Doin' C'mere, begging to be let in the house and the body of a dead dove lying on the ground behind her. *shudders*

She must have caught it while it was feeding because there was bird seed scattered amongst the feathers and blood. An overall chilling sight.

After letting the cat in (and giving her a good spanking and scolding), I went outside to deal with the dead bird.

I couldn't just leave the bird on the patio. Other cats might come in to have a snack and really, Dad wouldn't be too pleased to come home to a chewed up dove at the backdoor.

Now, I consider myself to be a rather tough, strong person. I don't consider myself to be that squeamish about things. I watch horror movies all the time and watch medical shows depicting graphic surgery while I eat for crying out loud. Not that squeamish.

But, I don't like dead things. I suppose that's human nature, but I really don't like dead things. And, I really don't like touching dead things in any way. If a pet dies, Dad has to dispose of it because I will not touch it. Not with a biohazard suit on will I touch a dead thing. Dead bodies I can handle. Dead things, no. And, yes, there is a difference.

Being the only one home and Dad not due in from work for at least six hours, I had no other choice but to touch the dead bird to get rid of it.

Do you know that weird dance girls do when they're confronted with something they find icky and gross and heebie jeebie inducing? Ya know that fist clenched, constant shuddering type of dance that's usually accompanied by that high pitched squealing/whining noise? Yeah. I did that.

I did it all the way to the garage to find a rag to pick it up with. I did it all the way back to the carcass. I did it as I picked it up and chucked it into the trash can. I did it for ten minutes afterward as I washed my hands and then drove to the store. It's the most undignified, girly, scaredy-cat dance in the world. And, I, this hardcore tomboy with a love of horror movies and a thirst for all things disgusting, did that dance.

I still twitch at the thought of chucking that bird in the trash. Just....no.

And, now I've gotta go hose blood off of my patio.

Man, I never thought I'd type that without first typing, "And, then I shoved his chopped up body into a trash bag."

Date: 2004-04-09 02:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] http://users.livejournal.com/_hellfire/
Gah!

Dude, you must let me post some of this in metaquotes. *begs*

Date: 2004-04-09 02:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] katia-247.livejournal.com
Dude, I'm the same way. I cannot STAND touching dead things, there's just something that makes me go "EEE, gross!" like a dork. I have to put on rubber gloves first, and then walk really really fast once I pick it up. That's what I did when I was on dead mouse patrol last year, anyway. :-p

And I too love gory horror movies and watching surgery on TV. Go figure. Dead things are just nasty.

Date: 2004-04-09 09:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] butterflyflames.livejournal.com
Dude, whenever I hit something on the road, be it already dead or not I do that dance.

And I do it whenever I see a snake. Dead, alive, on tv...whatever, I do "The Dance".

Date: 2004-04-10 02:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] your-empathy.livejournal.com
Dude! I'm the same way. I did the same dance when I was trying to get my rabbit out of his cage when he passed away. I screamed, and dropped him. I felt so bad, but I didn't stop doing that dance for almost an hour. Then at work the other day, there was a big spider crawling on the floor and I screeched so loud, the people from the business next door came over to see what had happened. :) I had to beg one of the drivers to kill it. They could not stop laughing. I can watch scary movies without flinching, but get me near a bug or a dead animal, and I'm the biggest girly-girl there is.

It's not just dead things...

Date: 2004-04-12 12:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shygirl8119.livejournal.com
...that get me to do that dance. I used to do that dance every time I had to clean my guinea pigs' cage when they were alive. Then again, I can be a huge wuss sometimes. Hell, I'm just glad I never saw the squirrel that got caught in the kitchen cabinets and never got out.

Date: 2004-04-16 12:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] creepy-girl80.livejournal.com
*chuckles* well, you know they love you when they do that for you ;-)

WL,
Missy

Date: 2004-04-17 09:15 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] creepy-girl80.livejournal.com
Heh! She still does that?

WL,
Missy

Date: 2004-04-17 12:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] creepy-girl80.livejournal.com
*chuckles* rambunctious girl *hearts*

WL,
Missy

Profile

whiski_sour: (Default)
Cheshyre

February 2014

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios