whiski_sour: (Sheildmaiden (creepy_girl80))
[personal profile] whiski_sour
[livejournal.com profile] winged_fire and I went to the LOTR Trilogy showing at ISU today. Over twelve hours. Never again will I do that.

Woke up this morning to Phe knocking on my door. I had planned to get up at 9:30. Figured that would give us enough time. Looked at the clock and it was 9. Still thinking I'm cool.

I'm not. I'd forgotten about daylight savings time. Did not spring ahead. It's really 10 and the show starts at noon. It takes us about 20-25 minutes to get there and we're both thinking the place is going to be packed.

I get dressed and such (wore my "Legolas Dies" shirt for the occassion) and we head out. I got a few bites of a breakfast sandwhich on the way up.

Get there about 11. It's not packed. There's hardly anyone there. Fine. Now, this is being done in a college auditorium, not a normal movie theater. The screen is much, much bigger. Very cool. No food allowed in the auditorium. Not cool.

We find some seats, Phe makes a last minute trip to the bathroom (I haven't drank anything since the night before at this point, so the bathroom would prove to be no problem for me). See my friend Kurt and talk to him a minute.

Fellowship starts. My laws was it loud. They didn't turn down the volume until we got to ROTK.

Between the Fellowship and TT, there was a 30 minute break. So, we went out, grabbed a candy bar, I smoked a cigarette and we went back in.

Watched TT.

Now, here's where it got a bit hairy. We only had 15 minutes between TT and ROTK. I ran out to smoke again. However, they didn't want to let us back in after we left. I was behind Kurt when the guy told us we'd have to wait in the long line forming for the people who were just showing up to see ROTK. Kurt told him to fuck off, we'd been here since noon. So we went in anyway.

The ROTK showing was pretty full. About 150 people or so.

Now the entire time we'd been there, Captin Obvious and his friends had been sitting behind us and they'd talked a bit during the first two movies. I chose to ignore it because a) I did a bit of talking myself and b) during TT they were sitting behind me and to the left which meant I couldn't hear them that much because I can't hear as well out of my left ear. It was just a buzzing noise when they talked.

However, during ROTK, they decided to talk through a majority of it at a volume that I could hear them and at one point, they were louder than the fucking Battle of Pelinor Fields. Now at this point, I'm incredibly annoyed. I know I could have turned and asked them to be quiet but I probably would have said, "If you don't shut the fuck up I'm gonna slit your throat" and that could be taken the wrong way. So I endured it.

Then there were some hobbit fangirls behind us and to the right that awwwed at every cute thing the Hobbits did. For awhile I thought there was a dog loose in the auditorium whining. I'm like, "Somebody pet that fucker and shut it up."

Anyway, seeing all three movies back to back was incredible, albeit butt numbing. I found myself getting more emotionally involved watching all three in a row than I had been watching them individually. I still had to elbow Phe in the ribs for her pre-emptive giggling. And, I still can't watch the "share the loooooad" part (thanks [livejournal.com profile] brassyn).

Towards the end of ROTK my legs were shaking from having to sit in those uncomfortable chairs for so long. I love those films. I truly do. But, I'll never do that again. Never. It's far too long to have to sit. I am in awe of the people who can do it without a second thought.

We went to Steak 'N' Shake after the show and I called [livejournal.com profile] hobbitgal back. I'd left her a voicemail during the first break and she'd called me back and left me a voice mail during ROTK (when Faramir sees Pippin for the first time is when she called. My pocket started vibrating and I wondered if Faramir had the same feeling at that moment. But, that was wrong of me). Carrie, as always, is fucking hilarious. I know she only brought up the circumscision thing while I was in Steak 'N' Shake with Phe because I'd said something about erections once when I was on the phone with her while she was in Blockbuster. Or was that the grocery store? *shrugs*

So, after hanging up with her, Phe and I ate and came home.

And, as hard as it is to believe, I'm fucking exhausted from it.

So, nighty night.

Date: 2004-04-05 12:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hobbitgal.livejournal.com
*giggles and giggles* I made your pocket vibrate...


And it was when I was in Blockbuster...it's a fond memory for me...and now the girl who works there always looks at me and grins and asks if I will be making any cell phone calls while there...*giggles*


and OMG!!!!1!!!!BBQ711!!!! I am going to be coming to see you!!!!

Date: 2004-04-09 01:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] creepy-girl80.livejournal.com
Dude! That so sounds like good times!

WAML,
Missy

Profile

whiski_sour: (Default)
Cheshyre

February 2014

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 08:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios